Manchester – A chicken wing challenge pitted the Manchester Fire Department vs. Police accept that they won't be liked all the time, are under-appreciated and unrecognized for the job they do. This thread is archived. The left wants us to believe that paying for teachers, firefighters and police is a federal responsibility. This isn’t particularly well thought out, but just off the cuff I would say a police officer has the most dangerous job purely on a day to day basis. 98% Upvoted. The first dedicated volunteer fire brigade was established in 1736 in Philadelphia.These volunteer companies were often paid by insurance companies in return for protecting their clients. They put out the fires and save lives. I was a cop for about a decade, worked as an arson investigator for much of that, spent a lot of time with the FD, and then started applying to the FD. level 1. save. Firefighting in the United States dates back to the earliest European Colonies in the Americas. Pictured: Police and fire service vehicles at the site of a terrorist attack on the Champs-Élysées in Paris, France, on April 20, 2017. Fire dept, ha nds down. Firefighters previously demonstrated in October – marked by clashes with the police – calling for better pay, guarantees of their pension benefits and greater respect for their profession. 2. report. Obviously out on the street Firefighters and Police Officers are great mates, but we also like to have a dig at each other. It’s a dangerous job, everyone hates you. Police and fire departments both have strong institutional cultures, yet there are differences in the missions and challenges of these emergency services organizations. Mar 16, 2017 - This Pin was discovered by Kate Pirch. Lifeguards tend to make a relatively low annual salary, while firefighters and police officers are well compensated on average. 7.7k comments. New comments cannot be posted and votes cannot be cast. Striking French firefighters faced off against riot police who deployed w